image

Surry County Historical Society & Museum

Uncover Surry County's unique history and learn more about historic sites and projects in the County, including Dennis' corner, Lorena Leath photography collection, Captain John Smith Deckhouse project and Rogers' Store.

Find the Historical Society on our Map page.

Pilot House Restoration Project
The Historical Society is currently restoring the original pilot house from the
Capt. John Smith, the first motorized ferry to connect Jamestown to Scotland Wharf in 1925. The structure is on Historical Society grounds and open for viewing.
(Access to the pilot house itself may be restricted)
The project is scheduled for completion in the fall of 2014.
Interested Visitors should contact the Historical Society for availability.
OFFICE OPEN TUESDAYS AND WEDNESDAYS 10:00 AM TO 4:00 PM
757-294-0404

Pilot House from the side.

See the Restored Deckhouse at The Surry Historical Society Museum

The "Captain John Smith"
Albert Jester made the first automobile ferry crossing of the James River with the "Captain John Smith" on Feb. 26, 1925. The ferry was 60 feet long and could carry 16 "Model-T" Fords.

Carolyn A. Keen, CMP
Free Lance Historian
Independent Researcher
PO Box 159
Battery Park, VA, 23304
757-357-2173

Original Civil War script issued by Surry County in 1862 is on display along with many other artifacts from the people and life in Surry.
   

Surry County Historical Society & Museum
281 Bank Street
PO Box 262
Surry, VA 23883
757-294-0404
surryhistoricalsociety@gmail.com.
http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~vaschsm/index.html

OFFICE OPEN TUESDAYS AND WEDNESDAYS 10:00 AM TO 4:00 PM
Find the Historical Society on our Map page.



| Our Other Attractions | Home Page | Contact Surry County Tourism |

     
image